Coming Soon:

Importance of Adequate DHA in Preterm Infants

Monday, November 25, 2019
Noon ET | 11:00 AM CT | 10:00 AM MT | 9:00 AM PT

In this live webcast, Dr. Michael Caplan and Dr. Camilia Martin, will discuss the important functions of docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) and arachidonic acid (ARA) in the preterm infant; the role of DHA/ARA in neurodevelopment, growth, and retinal development; DHA/ARA levels after birth; challenges of achieving adequate DHA/ARA intake; benefits of DHA/ARA supplementation; current NICU practices of DHA/ARA supplementation; and how DHA/ARA supplementation might evolve in the future.

Featured:

Physiology and Targeted Nutrition in Infants 2019 Symposium – Pediatric Academic Societies Meeting

Participants will learn how targeted nutrition impacts the physiological development in infants during neonatal intensive care and the long-term development of preterm and term infants. Michael K. Georgieff, MD, and Camilia R. Martin, MD, discuss specific micro- and macro-nutritional components and their impact on developing physiology.

Dr. Martin provides the specifics of nutrient-directed metabolic programming in the early postnatal period and the risk of neonatal morbidities. Dr. Georgieff discusses how nutrition in the neonatal and postnatal period relates to brain development.

Trending Now

An Overview of Food Allergies in Children

Stanley A. Cohen, MD

Clinical Recommendations for Reducing and Preventing Food Allergies

Marion Groetch, MS, RDN
Hugh A. Sampson, MD, FAAAAI

Diagnosing Food Allergies in Infants and Children

Jonathan Spergel, MD, PhD

Encephalopathy of Prematurity

Terrie E. Inder, MD, MBChB

Individualized Fortification of Breast Milk for Preterm Infants

Christoph Fusch, MD, PhD

Neonatal Hyperglycemia in the ELBW Infant

Paul J. Rozance, MD

Neonatal Hypoglycemia

Paul J. Rozance, MD

Sign up!

Free CE/CME courses

Downloadable resources

Online CE/CME certificates

Organize group viewing events

Evidence-based content

Partner Program:

Understanding Pediatric Feeding Disorder

Join Feeding Matters for the interactive workshop “Understanding Pediatric feeding disorder: A Case-based approach” presented by authors of the field-leading consensus paper published in January’s Journal of Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition.