Nutrition in the First 1,000 Days: Iron

You must be signed in to view this CME course.

Iron plays a critical role in early neurodevelopment in the first 1,000 days and is an essential micronutrient during pregnancy, especially in the last trimester. Michael K. Georgieff, MD, discusses how early detection for at-risk infants is crucial in long-term consequences for brain health, and that proper screening for maternal iron deficiency is critical. Dr. Georgieff details how to prevent and treat iron deficiency, the benefits of iron supplements, as well as recommended daily intake of iron-fortified formula for both formula-fed and breastfed infants.

The overarching goal of this curriculum is to improve the clinician’s ability to guide mothers and children toward nutrition that supports optimal growth and development during the first 1,000 days.

Tuesday, December 15, 2020

1:00 PM-2:00 PM ET • Noon-1:00 PM CT • 11:00 AM-Noon MT • 10:00-11:00 AM PT

 

If you are unable to stream the video webinar, you may listen to audio of the live presentation by dialing +1 877-770-3647 (United States) and entering passcode 30241643#.

This course does not offer CE credit.

  • Michael K. Georgieff, MD

    Martin Lenz Harrison Land Grant Chair
    Professor in Pediatrics and the Institute of Child Development
    University of Minnesota
    Minneapolis, Minnesota