Nutrition in the First 1,000 Days: Vitamin D

You must be signed in to view this CME course.

Maternal vitamin D deficiency has a strong mother-infant relationship, affecting status in utero, through infancy, and throughout the first 1,000 days. Vitamin D supports and regulates the skeletal system, plays an essential role in immune function, and is a key nutrient for supporting  brain and neurodevelopment. Vitamin D deficiency is common worldwide, but even more prevalent for those living in northern climates.

Neonatologist Carol L. Wagner, MD, reviews the importance of vitamin D beyond bone health, and its role in growth and development from neonate to toddler. She defines vitamin D deficiency and outlines a screening process to monitor levels. To provide optimal long-term health outcomes, Dr. Wagner reviews supplementation plans in pregnant women and formula intake in infants, as well as complementary foods after 6 months of age.

The overarching goal of this curriculum is to improve the clinician’s ability to guide mothers and children toward nutrition that supports optimal growth and development during the first 1,000 days.

 Wednesday, December 2, 2020

11:00 AM-Noon ET • 10:00-11:00 AM CT • 9:00-10:00 AM MT • 8:00-9:00 AM PT

 If you are unable to stream the video webinar, you may listen to audio of the live presentation by dialing +1 877-770-3647 (United States) and entering passcode 25172414#.

This course does not offer CE credit.

  • Carol L. Wagner, MD

    Professor of Pediatrics
    Medical University of South Carolina
    Charleston, South Carolina