Nutrition in the First 1,000 Days: DHA

You must be signed in to view this CME course.

Professor of Nutrition, Susan E. Carlson, PhD, emphasizes the importance of  providing the essential fatty acids, DHA and ARA for brain development and cognition. Sufficient dietary consumption of long-chain polyunsaturated fatty acids is vital throughout the first 1,000 days, especially during pregnancy and breastfeeding. Prenatal and postnatal DHA affects cortical visual acuity, sustained attention, problem solving ability, as well as brain structure and function. Dr. Carlson reviews the dietary recommended DHA intake for mothers and infants, and outlines a balanced diet after infancy, with foods that contain DHA.

The overarching goal of this curriculum is to improve the clinician’s ability to guide mothers and children toward nutrition that supports optimal growth and development during the first 1,000 days.

Wednesday, December 9, 2020

Noon-1:00 PM ET • 11:00-Noon CT • 10:00-11:00 AM MT • 9:00-10:00 AM PT

If you are unable to stream the video webinar, you may listen to audio of the live presentation by dialing +1 877-770-3647 (United States) and entering passcode 56203342#.

This course does not offer CE credit.

  • Susan E. Carlson, PhD

    AJ Rice Professor of Nutrition
    Department of Dietetics and Nutrition
    University of Kansas Medical Center
    Associate Dean for Research
    KU School of Health Professions
    Kansas City, Kansas